My reflection on the first week of the Jadu fellowship program

MUHAMMAD USMAN SABIR
3 min readFeb 16, 2021

--

This is the very first write-up of my new blog post series in which I’m going to share my weekly experience as a Jadu Fellow and I’ll publish these articles every weekend.

Before I share my experience let's quickly check what Jadu Full Stack Developer Fellowship is:

This program is an immense, hands-on, online program taught by pioneers in the tech industry, aimed to impart technical and soft skills in people and help them into remote job placement.

The 4-month remote work fellowship is focused not only on developing technical skills but also on polishing interpersonal skills essential to take a remote job. The program also connects students to a global community of tech experts who will assist them in finding remote jobs all around the globe.

I heard about the Jadu program from a friend. When I saw that Sir Saad is running this program, immediately I decided to apply. I am following him for a quite long time. I took his WordPress course from Digiskills and I really enjoyed it. After a rigorous application process, I received the selection mail I was hoping for.

After accepting the offer, I had to submit few more details as an onboarding process. I took my orientation class on 9th Feb 2021. There are a total of three classes a week, two technicals and one for soft skills. The purpose of the orientation was to give us a sneak peek of the program and to discuss what are the expectations on both sides. Sir Saad asked us to make some promises on the very first day which was actually a very fun activity:

Jamboard

Also, we got to know our instructor, Arslan Khattak. He’s a full-stack developer, Github Campus expert, MLH’20 Fellow, Google DSC lead, Former Microsoft Student Partner, Microsoft Learn Student Ambassador, and an active Next.Js Contributor.

Arslan helped us to set up our Github and Discord. On discord, we are divided into different tribes. Each tribe consists of 5–8 fellows. We are not going to be evaluated individually but as a tribe. So there is room for healthy competition with other tribes. Overall, all the fellows are very supportive and they go out of the way to help.

In the next class, we learned about the basic working of the internet. How millions of nodes are interconnected with each other. We covered topics like Request, Response, Network traffic, DNS lookup, Front-end, Back-end, and Database. At the end of the week, we started learning HTML. We made some pretty basic things but it is enough for us to get started.

In the end, I am very excited about this program and looking forward to growing personally and professionally with all these amazing fellows.

Usman Out!

--

--

MUHAMMAD USMAN SABIR

DIGITAL EVANGELIST | MICROSOFT STUDENT PARTNER | CYBERSECURITY ENTHUSIAST | FREELANCER | TECHNICAL WRITER